The National Capital Tour is Canberra’s only closed-roads cycling event for all levels. The tour regularly attracts riders from around the country, so whether you’re looking for an exciting event to train for, or whether you’re an aspiring future pro-rider, National Capital Tour is one of the top events to put on your cycling schedule.

The Tour comprises 3 stages and 3 jersey competitions over 2 days, held on roads not used for other cycling races, making NatCap truly unique. The courses are designed to give all types of rider a chance to shine at the same time as being spectator friendly and close to the city.


For details of each of the three stages, see the Race Courses page.

National Capital Tour Categories

  • Men’s A
  • Men’s B
  • Mens’ C
  • Men’s D
  • Women’s A
  • Women’s B

For last year’s race course distances and start times for each grade, see the 2018 Event Program. The 2019 Event Program available soon.

Jersey Classifications

The General Classification is the competition to be the overall top-ranked rider, based on time elapsed. The top-ranked rider in each grade will be awarded the leader’s jersey, after each stage.

The Masters Classification is open to all masters-age riders in the following age categories:

  • Masters 4  Men
    (birth years 1970-1974)
  • Masters 5 Men
    (birth years 1965-1969)
  • Masters 6 Men
    (birth years 1960-1964)
  • Masters 7+ Men
    (birth years 1959 & earlier)
  • Masters 4 Women
    (birth years 1970-1974)
  • Masters 5 Women
    (birth years 1965-1969)
  • Masters 6 Women
    (birth years 1960-1964)
  • Masters 7+ Women
    (birth years 1959 & earlier)

The Masters Classification jersey is awarded to the fastest rider in the Stage 1 Individual Time Trial from each of the above age categories, for both men and women (irrespective of grade entered).

The Sprint Classification jersey will be awarded to the rider who accumulates the most points in the sprint competition.

Event Program

Download the 2018 National Capital Tour Program here for stage details and times.

NCT18 Draft Program

Stage 1 Start Times (ITT / 2018 Edition)

Click here to download or go to